Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
xcoaste

COD Black Ops III Thoughts

27 posts in this topic

I have had the game since launch on Friday. I wasn't quite sure what to think going into the game. With the Best Buy games club bonus and $10 pre order bonus I decided it was worth a shot. I wasn't blown away by the beta, in fact it kinda pushed me a little back from it. I am starting to think that most hardcore fans are the majority of those that play the betas and I got destroyed in it!

To this date I have been pleasantly surprised. I did not enjoy the last 2 installments, but this developer seems to have given the MP maps some really good thought. The maps feel familiar to me as if they have taken elements from previous versions and sprinkled them in. I started playing the core game mode for MP to learn the maps and utilize the mini-map. I really don't enjoy core, I prefer hardcore. Once I felt I had a grasp of the maps I have stayed in hardcore. The MP feels really smooth, something i have come to expect from COD. The boost jump and wall run are used minimally in my experience. When an opponent uses those features it can sometimes give their position away. Gameplay tends to be fast, but I have found hardcore to move at a slower pace as usual. Score streaks tend to be sparse and harder to achieve then the COD glory days where chopper after chopper was being called in!

The Campaign has also been good to this point. I typically like to play most if not all the campaign first but the MP has sucked me in a bit this time. I am only about an hour into the story but like where it is going. There is a rumor that once you finish the campaign it unlocks a campaign mode with zombies, but I know nothing more of that.

Speaking of zombies, they are back. This is best played with friends, as playing solo is impossible! It is the same style of boarding up windows and spending cash to upgrade weapons.